Skip to content

World Cup Fever (and coming soon…)

June 14, 2010

Syrian people seem to support the winners.  I’ve met one man who is supporting England (although that may have only been for my benefit…) You mostly see Brazilian flags, some Argentinean, a few German.

It’s nice to be in the Middle East, travelling alone, for the World Cup.  When I left England, over a month ago, there was already a little too much misguided nationalism, a few too many Ingerland flags.  I get to miss the highs and the tears.  It also means that there is a nice thing for me to do in the long hot evenings.  I can find a bar and sit alone without feeling lonely.

Soon I’ll write about the incredible kindness I’ve been shown by a Syrian/Palestinian family in Damascus.  Soon.  But not now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

