Skip to content

I need to change the title of this blog…

June 17, 2010

About six months ago I decided that I would take the overland route to Damascus.  I’d read it in the Guardian travel pages – apparently one of the great places you can reach without a flight.  I began that journey a little over a month ago.  Now I am here and it seems crazy to head back the way I came and it seems a betrayal to check in and fly home in five hours.  So I’ve researched it and it looks as though I will be able to join a freighter ship from Haifa, Israel to Monfalcone, Italy, over 88 hours across the Mediterranean.  From there I will continue hitching back to London town.  I’ll keep writing here along the way.  It’s Jordon next – the Dead Sea, Petra, Wadi Rum and the chapel that stands where Jesus was baptised.  Then onto Israel.  You’ll have to forgive me the title of the blog.  Turns out it ain’t the road to Damascus anymore – it’s just my road home.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

