Skip to content

my route to Svalbard

August 29, 2011

I promised to post this over a week ago but even then my involvement in the Nowhere Island project had not been confirmed. As it happened final confirmation that I could leave London for 7 weeks and reach the Arctic without a plane, came just 20 hours before my cargo ship was to depart from Immingham docks. Those 20 hours were fraught: last minute thermal shopping, one last climate rush meeting and then a lot of drinks in my house to see me off. At 6.30am on Friday 26th I had done a Mary Poppins bag trick on my rucksack (my computer, wellies, Arctic trousers and coat, layers (xPlenty) all fit) – I was ready to leave my house, head to Kings Cross for the 8am train to Grimsby Town.

Now I’m in Bergen after the roughest crossing of the North Sea (more tomorrow on that). My hotel has WIFI (!!) and faces onto the park. I’m outta here to explore but please check out my trip itinerary below and I’ll write tomorrow about the crossing.

OUTWARD JOURNEY:

Monday 29 August 2011
Arrival into Bergen Port @ 09.00.
Check-in to: Steens Hotel

Tuesday 30 August
Day spent in Bergen.

Wednesday 31 August
Check-out of: Steens Hotel
Board the P1 Coastal Service from Bergen Port to travel up to Bodø.

Thursday 1 September – Sunday 4th September
At sea on P1 Coastal Service. Travelling up Norwegian Coast to Bodø.

Sunday 4 September
Arrival into Bodø Port

Sunday 4th – Friday 9th September
Check-in to: Bodø International Youth Hostel.

Friday 9th September
Checkout of: Bodø International Youth Hostel.
Board M/V Green Frost in Bodø Port to travel up to Longyearbyen, Svalbard across the Barents Sea.

Friday 9th to Monday 12th September
At sea on M/V Green Frost from 9th to 12th September. Travelling across the Barents Sea.

Monday 12 September
Arrival into Longyearbyen Port, Svalbard

The rest of the expedition team arrives on Sunday 11 September 2011. The team will spend the night on board the Noorderlicht docked in the Port of Longyearbyen.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 30, 2011 9:58 am

    Your tweet about Immingham and the Baltic Bright inspired me to find the
    following:
    http://www.marinetraffic.com/ais/shipdetails.aspx?MMSI=265425000
    which I used to follow part of your journey to Bergen. The Live Map was
    pretty slow but it was interesting to see just how many ships were in
    the area. I was impressed that it kept such good time given that the
    weather looked challenging!

    Here’s a link for the Green Frost:
    http://www.marinetraffic.com/ais/shipdetails.aspx?MMSI=311367000
    which you might find interesting. It appears to be “Not Currently in
    Range” somewhere between Tromsø and Longyearbyen.

    You’re right that bunker fuels used by most ships is “horribly
    polluting”. However, water transport by sea or inland waterways can be
    an efficient use of fuel. The International Maritime Organisation (IMO)
    is trying to reduce CO2 emissions:
    http://www.logistics-insight.com/news/historic-deal-emissions-new-ships-will-save-5bn-year
    but it does seem to be rather modest. It’s good to see that “wind power
    – sails, kites and flettner rotors” is mentioned.

    The challenging terrain of Norway makes shipping a very important means
    of transport. They have some spectacular railways. Bergen to
    Bodø by train takes over 25 hours and two changes. I suspect that four
    days by ship is even more spectacular.

Leave a Reply

